Kyle Alberding Wins Night One Of 2018 Diamond Cup

Kyle Alberding Wins Night One Of 2018 Diamond Cup

Kyle Alberding Wins Night One Of 2018 Diamond Cup

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

Kyle Alberding Wins Night One Of 2018 Diamond Cup

By Ben Deatherage

(Photo Courtesy of Brent Kuhl)

Meridian, Idaho- The NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series would venture to Meridian Speedway on Friday, June 8th for the opening leg of the 2018 Diamond Cup. Twenty-two cars from the states of Idaho, Washington, Oregon, and Utah as well as the Canadian province of British Columbia would fill the pit area. 


The main event would be an incredible battle between two young rising stars in the sport.  Roseburg, Oregon teenager Kyle Alberding and Taylorsville, Utah native Kyle Bergener would go back and forth for the lead on several occasions.  Despite several stoppages slowing things down, including two red flag incidents, Kyle Alberding would hold back all challengers to win night one of the Diamond Cup.


Nampa’s Cory Lockwood would be second followed by Ron Larson, of Quesnel, British Columbia, in third.  Completing the top five were fourth finishing Bryan Warf, from Meridian, and Kyle Bergener, in fifth.


For those who are unfamiliar with how the Diamond Cup champion is crowned it’s simple. Drivers earn points for both nights of racing and the driver with the most aggregate total is declared the winner.  Ron Larson has a sixteen-point lead going into night two over defending Diamond Cup title holder Bryan Warf.    Kyle Alberding, Cory Lockwood, and Roseburg, Oregon’s Matt Hein are the rest of the top five.


Be sure and stay up to date with the NSRA Sprint Series by visiting the series website at Also, check out the official Facebook page and click “Like” to follow the tour via your favorite electronic devices.


Race Results:

Diamond Cup Night #1

NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series Race #2

Friday, June 8th, 2018

Meridian Speedway

Meridian, Idaho


A-Feature: 1. 33-Kyle Alberding; 2. 11-Cory Lockwood; 3. 12-Ron Larson; 4. 91-Bryan Warf; 5. 43-Kyle Bergener; 6. 76-Andy Alberding; 7. 23-Johnny Giesler; 8. 98H-Matt Hein; 9. 7-Randy DuBois; 10. 28-Colton Nelson; 11. 26-Justin Segura; 12. 12B-Monty Bergener; 13. 3-Robert Beck; 14. 14-Aaron Willison; 15. 32-Mitch Holte; 16. 4-Greg Middendorf; 17. 33J-Jeff Montgomery; 18. 6-Richard Miranda; 19. 77-Matt Elliott; 20. 71-Aaron McPeak; 21. 68-Mike Anderson; DNS 25-Sierra Giesler