NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series Heads To Meridian Speedway For Diamond Cup Weekend

NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series Heads To Meridian Speedway For Diamond Cup Weekend

NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series Heads To Meridian Speedway For Diamond Cup Weekend

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series Heads To Meridian Speedway For Diamond Cup Weekend

By Ben Deatherage

Meridian, Idaho- After a sensational 2018 opener a few weeks ago the NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series is set to embark on their first trip of the year to Idaho’s Meridian Speedway.  The venue will be playing host to one of the most historic races in the Pacific Northwest, the Diamond Cup.  Bryan Warf is the defending champion, also doubling up and winning in the Super Modifieds, while Tony Thomas won the first night.  Things kickoff on Friday, June 8th, and wrap up Saturday, the 9th.


This two-date affair is also one of the most unique on the schedule.  The weekend is split up into two different shows with points being accumulated each night.  The driver with most points at the end of the weekend will be crowned the champion.


The Diamond Cup has been an annual event since 1989 and started out with the Super Modifieds.  There have been eighteen different winners over the years including one tie in 2011.  Rick Veenstra, Kenny Hamilton, and Matt Hein are the three all-time winningest Diamond Cup champions as each driver has won three times.  Weather has also been very kind over the years too as only one race has fell victim to weather and that was in 1993.  


In the one and only race with the series so far this year Matt Hein was the winner of the Rick Brown Super Shoe.  Hein is looking for redemption as he was injured on the opening night after being caught up in an incident.


In two local event Meridian Speedway has had two different winners.  Bryan Warf one the first race back in April and Justin Segura got the job done during the Naylor Classic.


Be sure and stay up to date with the NSRA Sprint Series by visiting the series website at www.nsraracing.com. Also, check out the official Facebook page and click “Like” to follow the tour via your favorite electronic devices. 


2018 NSRA Winged Sprintcar Series Schedule

May 18th-Douglas County Speedway-Roseburg, Oregon-Test & Tune

May 19th-Douglas County Speedway-Roseburg, Oregon-Rick Brown “Super Shoe”-Matt Hein

June 8th-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, Idaho-Diamond Cup

June 9th-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, ID-Diamond Cup

July 6th-Mission Valley Speedway-Polson, Montana-Test & Tune

July 7th-Mission Valley Speedway-Polson, Montana-Mission Valley Sprint Shootout

August 4th-Evergreen Speedway-Monroe, Washington-Rory Price Memorial

August 17th-Western Speedway-Victoria, British Columbia-Daffodil Cup

August 18th-Western Speedway-Victoria, British Columbia-Daffodil Cup

September 21st-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, Idaho-Tom Elliott Classic #

September 22nd-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, Idaho-Championship Night #

#-Denotes events co-sanctioned with the King Of The Wing Sprint Series


Former Royal Purple NSRA Winged Sprintcars Champions:
1991- Allen Goetz
1992- Allen Goetz
1993- Allen Goetz
1994- Myron Gemmer
1995- Rick Brown
1996- Rick Brown
1997- Trevor Montgomery
1998- Trevor Montgomery
1999- Trevor Montgomery
2000- Trevor Montgomery
2001- Craig Deaver
2002- Rick Brown
2003- Pat Bliss
2004- Rick Brown
2005- Rick Brown
2006- Jeff Montgomery
2007- Andy Alberding
2008- Matt Hein
2009- Matt Hein
2010- Andy Alberding
2011- Sierra Jackson
2012- Andy Alberding
2013- Andy Alberding
2014- Matt Hein
2015- Matt Hein
2016- Matt Hein

2017-Aaron Willison



Past Diamond Cup Champions:

1989- Davey Hamilton

1990- Kenny Hamilton

1991- Rick Veenstra

1992- Rick Veenstra

1993- Rained Out

1994- Rick Veenstra

1995- Kelly Newman

1996- Randy Bauer

1997- Rebel Jackson Jr.

1998- Kelly Newman

1999- Pat Quinn

2000- Jeff Russell

2001- Troy Regier

2002- Kenny Hamilton

2003- Bob Bigiogni

2004- Kenny Hamilton

2005- Jeff Russell

2006- Troy Regier

2007- Dale Lamborn

2008- Brandon Johnson

2009- Matt Hein

2010- Justin Mack

2011- Matt Hein/Sierra Jackson

2012- Johnny Giesler

2013- Bryan Warf

2014- Sierra Jackson

2015- Andy Alberding

2016- Matt Hein

2017- Bryan Warf