P&R Truck Centres Daffodil Cup Next For Royal Purple NSRA Series

P&R Truck Centres Daffodil Cup Next For Royal Purple NSRA Series

P&R Truck Centres Daffodil Cup Next For Royal Purple NSRA Series

P&R Truck Centres Daffodil Cup Next For Royal Purple NSRA Series

By Ben Deatherage

Victoria, British Columbia- One of the most historic and prestigious races in western Canada is just about to get underway this coming Friday, August 12th and Saturday, the 13th. The Daffodil Cup, presented by P&R Truck Centres, dates back to the 1960’s and continues the tradition of being hosted at Western Speedway in Victoria, British Columbia. This will be the only event in 2016 where the Royal Purple NSRA Series ventures into Canada.


“We’re very excited to have the series back,” stated Western Speedway Track Manager, Daryl Crocker, “it’s going to have a good mix of racers with the local veterans like (Jeff) Montgomery and a young gun like Robbie Price against the series regulars (Matt) Hein and (Randy) DuBois. This is a race you do not want to miss.”


Of the forty-two previous completed events, a Canadian driver has won twenty-four times. Of the last ten races the Canadian contingent has dominated winning seven while the Americans have visited victory lane three times.


Scott Aumen has accumulated the most Daffodil Cup wins, at five, after finishing first in 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, and 2013.  Roy Smith is second on the win chart with four Cup triumphs. Amazingly four drivers are all tied for the third most career Cup wins. Craig Deaver, Norm Ellefson, Jeff Montgomery, and Trevor Montgomery all have managed to win this race three times.


The list of two-time winners includes Rick Brown, Billy Foster, Doug Larson, Don McLeod, and Eldon Rassmussen. Thirteen drivers have one Daffodil Cup win to their credit and they are Andy Alberding, Vern Church, Dave Fitzgerald, Bud Gorder, Davey Hamilton, Rebel Jackson Jr., Sierra Jackson, Ron Larson, Cory Lockwood, Jim Malloy, Blaine Sneva, John Tharp, and Marty White. Andy Alberding is the defending race winner while Eldon Rassmussen was victorious in the first edition way back in 1961.


“The Daffodil Cup began with Geoff Vantreight,” said longtime Pacific Northwest track promoter, George Wade, “he owned a huge Daffodil farm and his cars were always the yellow #7 and they were called the Daffodil Special. Geoff stepped up and sponsored the first Daffodil Cup race in 1961.”


Western Speedway has hosted four races with WILROC Series. Guy Barrett has two wins while Jeff Montgomery and Ryan Orchard have just one each.


The Royal Purple NSRA Sprints have had six point events with Matt Hein winning three of them. Jeff Montgomery, Bryan Warf, and Robbie Price have won one each while Davey Hamilton Jr. captured the victory in the non-point Pink Lady Classic in July.


For both nights Front Gates open at 4:30 PM, Qualifying begins at 5:15, the Fan Fest (where the fans get to meet all the drivers) will start at 6:00, and Open Ceremonies kick off around 6:30. Tickets are $25.00 for Adults, Seniors/Youths (Ages 13-18) $22.50, Military/Children (Ages 7-12) $14.00, Children (Ages 6 and Under) are FREE while a Family Pass (2 Adults and 4 Children) will be offered for $70.00. For more information, log on to www.westernspeedway.net.


P&R Truck Centre, a locally owned Vancouver Island based company, has been serving the transportation industry since 1979. P&R is a full-service Western Star, Freightliner, Sterling, and Mitsubishi Fuso truck dealer and also is the official Doepker Trailer dealer for Vancouver Island. The P&R Truck Centre vision is to give their employees and their valued customers the business environment where excellence and quality are fostered in every aspect of business. More information can be obtained by visiting their locations in Saanichton, Duncan, or Victoria as well as visiting www.rtruckcentre.com. Also check them out on Facebook, at “P&R Truck Centre Ltd.”, and click “Like”.


Former P&R Truck Centres Daffodil Cup Winners:

1961- Eldon Rassmussen

1962- Billy Foster

1963- Billy Foster

1964- Jim Malloy

1965- Eldon Rassmussen

1966- Norm Ellefson

1967- Norm Ellefson

1968- Roy Smith

1969- Bud Gorder

1971- Roy Smith

1972- Norm Ellefson

1973- Don McLeod

1974- John Tharp

1975- Roy Smith

1976- Roy Smith

1977- Blain Sneva

1978- Doug Larson

1979- Doug Larson

1980- Don McLeod

1985- Dave Fitzgerald

1988- Vern Church

1989- Davey Hamilton

1990- Marty White

1991- Rebel Jackson Jr.

1996- Rick Brown

1999- Trevor Montgomery

2000- Craig Deaver

2001- Craig Deaver

2002- Craig Deaver

2003- Trevor Montgomery

2004- Jeff Montgomery

2005- Jeff Montgomery

2006- Jeff Montgomery

2007- Scott Aumen

2008- Scott Aumen

2009- Cory Lockwood

2010- Scott Aumen

2011- Scott Aumen

2012- Sierra Jackson

2013- Scott Aumen

2014- Ron Larson

2015- Andy Alberding


Be sure and stay up to date with the Royal Purple NSRA Sprint Series by visiting the series website at www.nsraracing.com. Also, check out the official Facebook page and click “Like” to follow the tour via your favorite electronic devices.


Royal Purple is the proud title sponsor of the NSRA Pavement Sprint Car Series. Royal Purple manufactures high-performance lubricants for most automotive, industrial, marine, motorcycle and racing applications. It is considered the best synthetic motor oil by many end users. For more information or to find a store that carries these wonderful products log on to www.royalpurpleconsumer.com.


2016 Royal Purple NSRA Sprint Car Schedule (Winner):

May 14th-Ephrata Raceway Park-Ephrata, WA-Rebel Jackson Memorial (Robbie Price)

June 3rd-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, ID-Diamond Cup (Bryan Warf)

June 4th-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, ID-Diamond Cup (Matt Hein)

June 25th-State Line Speedway-Post Falls, ID-The Super Shoe (Matt Hein)

July 21st-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, ID-Pink Lady Classic (NON-POINTS) (Davey Hamilton Jr.)

July 23rd-Evergreen Speedway-Monroe, WA-Rory Price Memorial (co-sanctioned with King of Wings) (Matt Hein)

July 24th-Wenatchee Valley Super Oval-Wenatchee, WA-Thunder In The Valley (co-sanctioned with King of Wings) (Jeff Montgomery)

August 12th-Western Speedway-Victoria, BC-Daffodil Cup

August 13th-Western Speedway-Victoria, BC-Daffodil Cup

September 16th-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, ID-Tom Elliott Sportsman Classic

September 17th-Meridian Speedway-Meridian, ID-Championship Night


Former Royal Purple NSRA Sprint Car Champions:

1991- Allen Goetz

1992- Allen Goetz

1993- Allen Goetz

1994- Myron Gemmer

1995- Rick Brown

1996- Rick Brown

1997- Trevor Montgomery

1998- Trevor Montgomery

1999- Trevor Montgomery

2000- Trevor Montgomery

2001- Craig Deaver

2002- Rick Brown

2003- Pat Bliss

2004- Rick Brown

2005- Rick Brown

2006- Jeff Montgomery

2007- Andy Alberding

2008- Matt Hein

2009- Matt Hein

2010- Andy Alberding

2011- Sierra Jackson

2012- Andy Alberding

2013- Andy Alberding

2014- Matt Hein

2015- Matt Hein